BurdaStyle 3/2010-118B – a Draped Top

contest 156

 

contest 157

Line drawing:

bwof-03-2010-118A

I went to dinner with the girls the other night and I wanted a fun simple blouse to wear with some linen capris and strappy sandals.  The knit is from Gorgeous Fabrics I bought some years ago (this is the THIRD garment I made from this one piece of yardage!).  From the magazine, “…top with dramatically draped neckline furnished plenty of room to move and its width is adjusted by a hem drawstring….darts nicely sculpt the cross-wise stretch fabric to your figure.”

contest 158  

contest 161

I was in a hurry to get these pictures taken yesterday, so the quality is not that great.  I really like this top, though!  It’s basically a big blouse with cut-on sleeves, lots of draping, and no shaping.  Choose a very drape-y fabric for this one.  The magazine recommends jersey for this one, but you could easily use charmeuse, voile, georgette, or any thin woven.

Construction is a breeze, if you can get past the front neckline.  The front darts are sewn together and gathered, but after that, I got confused.  Here’s what I did:  I clipped into the seam allowance to the dart, then finished and gathered the dart.  I turned under a 1/4” hem on the front neck.  After that, I kinda winged it.  The back neck facing provides a good clue as to what you’re supposed to do.   Now, I’m not a big user of interfacing pieces on knit garments, but I think it’s necessary here.  The outer edges of the facing extend past the shoulder seams, into the fronts.  I figured that this facing was meant to meet up with the cowl part, and I even went so far as to attach the neck facings to the front cowl:

contest 162 

The front cowl sort of met up with the neck facing right at the gathered dart.  Was that intentional? I’ve no clue.  But, I sewed them together and tacked the facing at key places on the wrong side.  You can see a big pucker right at the gathered dart, but, so what?  It’s all draped anyway.

contest 159

…and low (bra strap alert)….

If I were to make this again (and I might, it’s cute!), I would be very careful to accurately trace the seamlines of the top front, top back and neck facing.  This would be helpful in determining how to accurately sew this great top.  I’m using this as my garment #3 for the mini-wardrobe contest!

  1. You should post this on Burdastyle’s site so that others can see how you did the cowl. I am trying to make the dress right now. The directions are really bad. Thanks for your suggestion though!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

Enjoying a RTW FAST since 2015! Creator of "DESIGNIN' DECEMBER!" Addicted to sewing since the 70's! In a few words, I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

Leading UK sewing blog where we believe creativity is contagious

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

