Vogue 1035

Here is my last entry into the Pattern Review Contest:  Vogue 1035

contest 131

Wouldn’t these be sooo cool with a cuff at the hem?  Alas, it wasn’t meant to be…this fabric is 100% cashmere, that’s right!  It was horribly expensive, so I only got 2 yards and used every bit, soooo…no cuff. 

contest 130

This fabric is. so. awesome! *ahem*.   Anyway, since I recently completed another pair of alice + olivia pants,  Vogue 1059, I was making alot of mental comparisons.  Much of the difference lies in the design details and the wearing options, and except for one big difference, the fit is almost the same.  These pair of pants sit MUCH higher up on my waist than the other ones.  Vogue 1059 also offers another wearing option (zipping up the back) if you prefer.  On a flat pattern comparison, the bottom leg widths were pretty much the same.

Likes:  the zipper insertion instructions, for all of the A+O patterns I’ve made, gave professional and beautiful results.  I’ve made so many of these pants that I don’t use the directions much.  Note to self:  serge all crotch seams before sewing them up-it just makes the finishing easier.  I also like the fit.  I’ve discovered that I get a better fit on me if I cut a size 12 crotch and a size 10 everything-else.  I eliminated the back welt pockets, I thought the cashmere was a little too loose-weave to hold a good pocket.  However, the instructions for installing them were great!

There is no pattern for linings, but I did line these pants with china silk:

contest 132

I taped the waistband with fusible stay tape.  I fused the waistband with Pro-Tailor Interfacing.

contest 129

As fabulous as these are, I think I’ll stick to the other pants pattern, Vogue 1059 for wide-legged trousers.  I prefer the lower waist.  However, if you’re a fan of the high-waisted trouser, give these a try.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

In a few words, I am addicted to sewing! I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

RPT's Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

A sewing and knitting blog

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

