Jalie 2908

Here they are, my new jeans!

contest 057   contest 068

Some butt shots:

contest 065   contest 069

I made size U with no alterations.  I’m 5’4”, and I think I only cut 1/2” off at the legs.  I really like the fit through the legs and hips.  The waistband is problematic.  The pattern piece is a straight rectangle, which should  have been a red flag right for me right there.  As made, it gapes open at the back.  Next time, I’ll draft a curved waistband.  Also, I’m not sure that there’s much of a benefit from cutting it out on the bias, as the instructions have you doing.  As they are, these jeans do quite nicely with a belt.  And, they’re very comfortable.  The fabric is stretch denim, which the pattern calls for.  If I make these again, I’ll go down a size.  I think I could get away making up this size in non-stretch denim. 

contest 067

 

Some topstitching details for you, nothing fancy, just freehand drawings that I drew on the pocket with erasable pencil.  Garment #3 complete!  I think I’ll break from pants for now and tackle one of my tops.

    • Unknown
    • October 12th, 2009

    Great looking jeans.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

Enjoying a RTW FAST since 2015! Addicted to sewing since the 70's! In a few words, I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

RPT's Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

Leading UK sewing blog where we believe creativity is contagious

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

