Vogue 1066 Pants

Sometime last year, possibly as a New Year’s “Resolution”, I mentioned that I wanted to tackle Vogue 1066:

bmsuit

Picture from www.style.com

Well, I’m finally finished!  these are the pants:

contest 034

contest 036

I made these out of a charcoal suiting blend from Fabric.com.  It might have had some wool in it, but I think it was mostly poly.  It has a nice drape to it.  It is dark, though, so my camera is not wanting to capture good images:

contest 037

These are cool pants!  Just look at all the great details!

I found that the pattern is cut really slim; the top of of the pants sit real close to the natural waist.  The pattern describes them as straight-legged pants, but I think the legs have a slight flair to them.

The instructions are super fabulous, with detailed steps on making and clean-finishing the fly front:

contest 013 

The pockets also get the same “vip” treatment, with instructions on finishing the edged with bias binding.  I love pockets that are cut to attach to the fly seam.  This keeps a smooth finish across the front, keeps the pockets from gaping open after your big meal, (hohoho)

On the outside, the pocket edges and waist seam are piped.  I used china silk cut on the bias.  I left off the piping at the waist seam to cut down on bulk.  The instructions also have you piping the tabs, but I didn’t to those either:

contest 045

For the tabs, I re-fashioned some leather that I had in my stash.  I didn’t put button-holes in them, I just sewed the buttons down over them, so they’re “fixed”.  I dunno, I’ll probably remove those, at least the ones over the pockets.  I don’t like not being able to slide my hands in my pants pockets without fiddling with them!  Anyway….the details continue with rows of topstitching and these interesting belt carriers that are attached to the pants with, you guessed it, more buttons.  All in all, I think there are 8 buttons on these pants!

contest 035     contest 038

I eliminated back darts and eased the back into the waistband,  a couture technique that Claire Schaeffer uses in her patterns.  As I said, this pattern was on the slim side for me.  I cut out my usual 12 and had to let out every seam possible to get it to fit!  It’s still fairly snug.  Also, because this fabric was practically see-through, I ended up lining the pants with china silk.  Dangit, my beautifully constructed fly and pocket all enclosed, never to be seen again (LOL)!  I highly recommend this pattern.  The instructions are superb, and I’d be willing to bet that you don’t have anything in your closet like these!!

contest 039

Here’s a sneak-peak at the entire ensemble!  I’ll post a review of the jacket tomorrow, but you can see why the need for the slim pants-to offset the boxy jacket.   TTFN!

    • Shannon
    • September 15th, 2009

    Those pants are gorgeous and the fit is spectacular! I’m loving the jacket too!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

In a few words, I am addicted to sewing! I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

RPT's Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

A sewing and knitting blog

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

