BWOF 07-09-116

BWOF 014

HA! Better late than never!  Here at the end of Summer, I’ve finally made my maxi dress!

Hope you got your ear plugs on ‘cause this is one loud dress, LOL!  This is more stash Jersey from the www.fabric.com warehouse sale (incidentally, it’s coming up again real soon, maybe I’ll go, hmmm).

BWOF 021        BWOF 020     BWOF 022 

Line drawing:

000001782268 

This is an easy enough dress to put together.  The bodice is lined with another piece of jersey that is un-shirred.

BWOF 009

This is the lining, back with 2 fronts, sewed together at the side seam along with the outer fabric.  I fused the top of the lining piece with bias tape.  I then made the straps:

BWOF 010

I constructed the top, and then added the skirt.  No zipper used:

BWOF 017          BWOF 018

I don’t recommend constructing it the way I did.  I tried to follow the directions in the magazine, and I ended up  hand sewing the facing down on the inside.  Here’s what I would do next time:

Construct the front and lining front separately, including the straps.

Sew the front together to the lining, right sides together, straps included.  Sew along the top edges, turn the corner and sew the straps.  Then sew the inside neck edge.  Trim the corners very carefully, especially the V at the center front.  Do not sew the side and bottom seams.  You might need a tube turner to turn the straps out.

Sew the back and back lining together at the top edge, at the same time attaching the straps on at the back edge at the markings.

Attach the front and back together at the side seams.  The outer fabric and lining is attached in one continuous seam.

Attach the skirt.

I also made a note to raise the front edge to attach about 1-1 1/2 inches higher up on the straps.  For this dress, I shortened the straps by one inch.  This dress is very comfortable to wear, and, as a huge bonus in my book, you can wear a strapless bra!  I’ll make another one of these next Summer, probably in a tamer solid. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

Enjoying a RTW FAST since 2015! Creator of "DESIGNIN' DECEMBER!" Addicted to sewing since the 70's! In a few words, I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

Leading UK sewing blog where we believe creativity is contagious

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

