BWOF 7-2009-124A

Mccalls5591 016

Mccalls5591 018

I was not prepared to like this as much as I do!  I haven’t even hemmed the bottom yet, but I wore it last night to dinner, he he.  This is the top from BWOF-7-2009-124a, the top (it also makes up into a dress).  The pattern is only 3 pieces:  the front, 2 backs, and 2 ties, plus a neck cord.  I couldn’t really summon the patience to get into the directions, so I winged it.  I’m really happy with the results.  Here are a few things I did:

Mccalls5591 019

I sewed the ties up first, and then sewed them into the side seams.  Then I sewed the side seams together and then bound the edges continuously from the back to the neck opening.

Mccalls5591 020

Mccalls5591 017

For the neck strap, I covered a 1/8” cotton cord with fabric and added pewter beads on each end.

You can finish this in an afternoon!  Here’s the top on me:

Mccalls5591 008

Mccalls5591 010

Mccalls5591 011

I like the coverage, still it’s a bit low in the back.  I kept fiddling with it to keep the back bra strap covered.

So, here’s the funny part.  I got to this point of construction, almost complete, when I went back to look at the magazine picture more closely.  This is when I discovered that this top was meant to have a wrapped back!  As in, I was supposed to keep one side of each back piece free and sew the ties to each piece.  woops!  Oh well, I like what I did better, catching both back pieces into the side seams.  The ties are just decorative at this point.  I think I’ll leave the bottom hem unfinished and be done with it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

Enjoying a RTW FAST since 2015! Addicted to sewing since the 70's! In a few words, I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

RPT's Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

Leading UK sewing blog where we believe creativity is contagious

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

