McCall’s 5591

Mccalls5591 001

Look at me…Posting!  Writing!  SEWING!!!  I tell ya, this has not been the “Summer of Sewing” at my house; that is, until this week while the kids are away at camp (sing Handel’s Halleluiah chorus here).  So, cheers to me for sewing (and finishing) something!  It’s big, I kid you not!

I‘ve had this gorgeous Amy Butler Lotus fabric in my stash for a while, as well as this great pattern, McCall’s 5591.  This is a pleated skirt with yoke, back zipper, and slant pockets.  Here are some more details:

Mccalls5591 002 

The slant pocket has a little reinforcing band piece.  You could use contrasting fabric here, so cute!

Mccalls5591 003

Back view

The thing that gives this skirt interest is the pleating.  You can’t tell on my busy fabric, but the pleats are all different.  There is one big box pleat plus an additional pleat on each front and back side.  Since this is unwashed cotton, all the pleating makes this skirt “stand out”; I feel kinda like June Cleaver in this, LOL:

Mccalls5591 015

Mccalls5591 013

See how poufy?  This will go down once the skirt gets washed, but I really like the effect as is!

The directions are very straightforward and easy to follow.  Since I did use plain cotton, I decided to “beef it up” underneath and use a Hong Kong finish:

Mccalls5591 005   Mccalls5591 006

Look!  I even bound the zipper!  I’m in too much of a hurry to ever do that!  This is real big for me, let me tell ya!

I made up a size 12, with no alterations.  The fit it great.  Look at this cute zipper I picked up in a bundle at the last Sewing Expo.  This was at the Vogue Fabrics booth.  I know, it’s a bit too green for the fabric, but I couldn’t resist the cute silver pull! 

Mccalls5591 004

Mccalls5591 015

One change I made was to topstitch down the pleats, about 3 inches from the top.  Then they release beneath the tummy area. 

This is a great pattern, simple to make, with really nice results.  The pattern has different views so that you can make this as many times as you want, with a different resulting look each time.  I plan on making this again, as soon as I can.

    • Shannon
    • July 25th, 2009

    Very cute skirt! I have this pattern and I have never made it up. I may just have to pull it out now after seeing your wonderful version!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

Enjoying a RTW FAST since 2015! Addicted to sewing since the 70's! In a few words, I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

RPT's Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

Leading UK sewing blog where we believe creativity is contagious

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

