BWOF 4/2009 #114

What did I get for Mother’s Day?  Time!  Time alone and unbothered to finish this dress:

BWOF 001

With a belt:

BWOF 004

Fabric:  a fabulous stretch cotton damask from Gorgeous Fabrics

Notions:  Invisible zipper, 4 3/4” size buttons, interfacing (I used fusible Tricot)

On me:

 BWOF 007

With a belt

BWOF 009

Different belt:

BWOF 012

This is a fabulous dress, but it needs to be fabulously accessorized, or it’s in danger of looking like a sack.  It looks better on me belted, I think, but I should probably find a better one.  Also, this dress turned out to be more baggy at the waist than the fashion picture would have you believe:

Also, the belt is worn further down toward the hip, which also decreases wrinkling.  I think I’m going to keep my version belted at the waist.  If all the ease bothered you, you could probably do more waist shaping at the side seams and back darts.

Back view:

BWOF 002

On me:

BWOF 008 

Okay, so here are the details:

From the magazine:  “Popular amongst petites!  This sporty sheath dress emphasizes a slim waist and will rake in the compliments at a business lunch or after-work get-together.  Attractive details include the short raglan sleeves, a self-fabric belt and button-down trench coat-style flaps.”

Here’s one more picture of the front detail:

BWOF 005

Don’t you just love this?

I love all the details:  Front darts, waist “point”, side-seam flap pockets, back darts for shaping, and front and back kick pleats.   I traced and cut a size 20.  This is a half-sized pattern, for people 5’3” and shorter; I’m 5’4”, and I had no problem with the fit.  The hardest part was figuring out the sleeves.  The instructions have you cutting and making turn-ups (what’s a turn-up? isn’t that a vegetable?).  After sewing and ripping several times, I simply finished the edge with a cuff and sewed the finished sleeve to the rest of the dress.  At the underarm, I serged the seam allowance and turned it under.  The other thing I couldn’t get was that pesky waist point.  After 4 attempts, I left it as is.  A nice belt will cover that nicely!  All seams were serged.  I really like this!  This is an interesting take on a simple sheath dress. 

BWOF 003

 BWOF 006   BWOF 011

Love it!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

In a few words, I am addicted to sewing! I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

RPT's Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

A sewing and knitting blog

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

