BWOF 4-2009 #121

blog post 020 

Here’s a super duper tunic top!  I love this!  I had some poly chiffon in my stash to get rid of, so I tried this pattern out with the fabric.  I really like the cut of this:  oversized but not “slouchy”.  I like how the under arm seam comes up higher under the arm so that the effect is not just some big oversized top.  This will be great made up in a nicer flow-y fabric.

000001757823

 blog post 001

blog post 002

The perfect beach cover up.

The pattern was fairly easy to make up.  From the line drawing, you can see that the front has 2 bust darts and no side shaping.  The head-scratching moments came when constructing the neck and facing.  I’m sorry I didn’t take a picture of this, but what I did was sew the facing to the neck at the inner neck edge.  I then marked a long V down the center front neck cutting line and stitched along the V.  I cut down the center front, clipping close to the V, flipped the edges in, and stitched down.  You can also do this the opposite way, having the facing attached to the right side of the neck.  Here’s the result:

blog post 021

Oh yes, this is a train wreck of a sewing job, but I blame this gawd-awful poly chiffon.  It unraveled if you looked at it!  It didn’t press, it’s stiff, blech!  At least it’s out of my stash!

blog post 022

I ran out of fabric, so I didn’t make the sleeve bands.  Note how low cut it is, also.  That can easily be altered by raising the slash point.  Just make sure it’s low enough so that you can pull the shirt over your head.

blog post 003

Easy pattern, great cut and fit.

    • Shannon
    • April 15th, 2009

    It may have been a pain to sew, but it sure is pretty!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

Enjoying a RTW FAST since 2015! Creator of "DESIGNIN' DECEMBER!" Addicted to sewing since the 70's! In a few words, I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

Leading UK sewing blog where we believe creativity is contagious

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

