Simplicity 4669

I managed to get an Easter dress made last week for DD.  The pattern is Simplicity 4669

Simplicity4669

This is a cute little wardrobe pattern for the ‘tween set, the girls who are too old for the “cute-sy” adorable gathered waist dresses.  I’ve had this pattern for a while and have just now tried it out, with great results:

Simp4669

Pattern Description:   This has a lined jacket with 3/4 length sleeves with a ribbon tie; an elastic waist 6-gored skirt, 2 tops, and pants.

Pattern Sizing:   6-14, I think.  I made size 10

Were the instructions easy to follow?  The instructions were very easy!  I like how they included very good basic tips, such as sewing or fusing down the seam allowances in the waist area of the skirt so that when you make your elastic casing, it’s easier to draw the elastic through (the seam allowances won’t get in the way) 

What did you particularly like  or dislike about the pattern?  I like the pattern, nothing to dislike.  I did make a poor color and fabric choice for this child’s dress, I think.

blog post 017  

The color’s all wrong, or something, I don’t know.  Maybe it’s just too much of the same fabric?

Fabric Used:  Cotton Pique from stash

Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made:  I liked that the jacket had no facing patterns, it just called for a lining.  However, I’ll have a hard enough time to get this child to dress up as it is, much less wear something lined in the Summer in Georgia, sooooo….no lining for me.  Well, I partially lined it at the top fronts and back.  This was the easiest way I could come up with to finish the neck edges and fronts.

blog post 016  

I added a ribbon to finish the hem.  For the skirt, I used a method that I learned from Loes Hines patterns to finish the waistband.  I stretched the elastic to the top of the waistband, serged the raw edges together, turned the edges to the inside and stitched closed.  It’s less bulky than sewing a casing and inserting elastic through the casing.

Would you sew it again?   Most definitely!  This is a winner!  Would you recommend it to others?  Yes! 

Conclusion:   More pictures!

blog post 018  

Great pattern, I’m just not “feelin’ it” with this fabric.

Okay, enough of that…how about some nail polish?  I have had a blast this past week with some great glitter polishes!  Who knew?

blog post 006

blog post 007

These are so cool!!!  I had never tried these before, but I love them!  The one above is Locavore from Rescue Beauty Lounge.  I ordered this from the NYC store, and it’s one of the most expensive bottles I’ve bought (still cheaper than some fabric!).  Talk about bling!  Here’s another color I got from the drug store:

blog post 008

This is Wet-n-Wild, color #435G.  The odd thing about these polishes is that they go on rough and have a rough finish.   That sensation takes some getting used to.   It takes several coats to get them opaque.  The good thing about this rough finish, though, is that you don’t have to worry about smudging a smooth finish! 

    • Shannon
    • April 14th, 2009

    I love glitter polishes – I just wish they weren’t such a pain to get off! To avoid the rough finish, put on a layer or two of topcoat – nice and smooth. I do this because I find that the glitter sometimes catches on fabric and it can be annoying.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

Enjoying a RTW FAST since 2015! Addicted to sewing since the 70's! In a few words, I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

RPT's Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

Leading UK sewing blog where we believe creativity is contagious

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

