First of the Spring Garments…

…Will (hopefully) be Vogue 1093.  Yeah, I did some major cleaning at my sewing table and in my closet.  I forgot to take pictures before I started a new project, but trust me, it wasn’t perfect, but it WAS functional.  This pattern is rated Advanced, and, as I’m progressing through it, I’d say that’s correct.  Also, it’s described as “fitted”, which means there’s no wearing ease.  The pattern recommends stretch canvas, or stretch gabardine, anything with stretch.  I’ve chosen a home dec weight linen with no stretch from my stash.  Needless to say, this pattern is complex!  There’s lots of origami type pleating and tabs, crazy pattern shapes, etc.  Take a look at the front pattern piece:

blog post 004 yeesh!

blog post 005

Since I’m using a non-stretch material, I’ve gone up a size from my usual 12 to a 14.  I thread traced all lines and markings because, I’ve had bad luck with felt-tip marking pens staining linen.  Forget about trying to fit this sucker, I wouldn’t know which seam to adjust!  Hopefully, it’ll turn out okay, since there are no sleeves; those are where my fitting issues pop up.

All cutting was done earlier this week.  It took about 2 days off and on to get it all cut out and thread traced; I’m still working on the detailed fronts.  So far, the directions are great; well, this is a complicated pattern, so they’d better be!  If you’re going to tackle this one, I suggest using a tightly woven fabric, not the ravel-ly  linen that I’m using.

The next few things I’m planning are Easter outfit for DD, and from BWOF 04-2009, this tunic :

 Burdatunic

I’ll be de-stashing some poly chiffon.

And finally:

blog post 001

This week’s polish is Misa’s Dirty Sexy Money.  Is that not a fun name?  I bought this polish simply for the name; I know, silly, right? But, I LOOVVE this crazy color!  That’s it for today.  Go paint your nails, then sew, DAhling!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

In a few words, I am addicted to sewing! I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

RPT's Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

A sewing and knitting blog

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

