Weather Weekend

The rain this weekend has cancelled all of our baseball, softball, and tennis playing activities.  YEA!  I so need a day to just sew/knit/crochet chill.  First, after miles and miles of stockinette and rib stitching, my sweater coat is finally on the blocking boards:

feb28post 001

Since the pieces are so big, the only place I can lay these is on a tile floor over some towels, with no pinning to shape.  I soaked the pieces in cold water and laid them out slightly bigger than the finished measurements so if they shrink while drying, it won’t matter.

Just for fun, or because I’m crazy, I finally started the Lilly Chin Crochet Lace Dress.

feb28post 002

It’s been forever since I’ve crocheted, and of course, I can’t find my stitch books anywhere.  I got this much done on the bodice yesterday afternoon, and it’s hard for me to follow because I’m so rusty, so I fully intend to rip this back at some point.  It’s going fairly quickly, I’m plodding on for now.

Finally, since I made this decision to get the UFO’s off my sewing table before beginning ANY new sewing, I’ve gotten back to my Chanel-esque jacket:

feb28post 003

I’ve been working on this since March 2008, and it’s taken me this long just to set in the  sleeves.  I’m determined to finish both this and a flannel quilt that have taken up residence on my sewing table before doing any. other. thing.  At this point, I’m just trying to power through these two projects, because they’re certainly not enjoyable.  Man, the fun went out of them a long time ago.  Sheesh! Have a great weekend and stay warm!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

Enjoying a RTW FAST since 2015! Creator of "DESIGNIN' DECEMBER!" Addicted to sewing since the 70's! In a few words, I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

Leading UK sewing blog where we believe creativity is contagious

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

