Butterick 5132

Butterick5132 001 - CopyHappy New Year!  We’re about to ring in the new year in less than 3 hours, but before we do, here is my final sewn garment completed before the year rings out.  Actually, I completed this a few days ago, but have been busy with holiday “stuff”, so here is Butterick 5132 .  This one is super easy, I made it in a day.  From the envelope:  “close-fitting dress has front tucks, slit at back, attached self-fabric ties and zipper closure.”  I used a black light-weight jersey from www.gorgeousfabrics.com.    IMO, this is a very figure-flattering dress for any figure type:

Butterick5132 001  Butterick5132 008 Butterick5132 002

Great silhouette, and fit, especially with a very stretchy fabric.

A few things I did differently:

Instructions have you hemming the single tie ends; I just cut 4 ties and sewed two together and added these to the side seams; finishing sides and ends not necessary.

Instructions have you cutting a piece of elastic according to a pattern guide and sewing it to the top shoulder seam.  Instead, I couched a piece of elastic cord to the shoulder seam with a wide zig-zag stitch and stretched it to the “gathered” look I wanted:

Butterick5132 003 - Copy

The pattern and instructions also call for a neck facing, which I didn’t use.  Instead, I used black fold-over elastic:

Butterick5132 004 - Copy

I stay-stitched the neck seam and then trimmed it down, and added the elastic, stretching it slightly.

This pattern calls for a zipper…Really?  Why?  I didn’t use one.

I didn’t add the slit to the back skirt.  What can I say?  I was in a hurry.

Butterick5132 007 Butterick5132 005 - Copy

Some reviewers on Pattern Review have mentioned that they wished there weren’t so many back pieces.  There are six pieces in the back in all.  It follows logic that if there is no need for a zipper that there is no need for a center back seam.  However, for all three pieces, (the top, middle, and skirt) the center back seam was curved, so I left them as is.    Here are some more views:

 Butterick5132 009Butterick5132 006

I like the pleats in the front and the cap-type sleeves.  If you’re concerned about it being low-cut, you can make adjustments at the center front seam.  I love this!  A great LBD option!

    • Jeannette
    • September 24th, 2013

    This dress is so flattering on You ! Beautiful ! !
    I really , really want to make this dress BUT I can’t find the pattern. Do you think it is a discontinued pattern or maybe Gorgeous Fabrics got the pattern number wrong when they posted your picture?
    Oh please can you help ?

    Jeannette

    • Thanks so much! It is a great dress, I’m not sure it’s discontinued or not, but I just checked over on ebay and there’s a copy for sale for cheap. It’s a Chetta B pattern, simple to make, flattering. Good luck!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

Enjoying a RTW FAST since 2015! Addicted to sewing since the 70's! In a few words, I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

RPT's Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

Leading UK sewing blog where we believe creativity is contagious

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

