Taffeta Trench

BWOF 11/2008, 134
OOOOH, do I love this coat, or what? From the website:  http://images.burdafashion.com/images/repos/1/000/001/732/000001732083
This is the fancy trench coat from the November 2008 exclusive designer section.  The coat that went with the cute coctail dress (I have that pattern traced out, also, waiting for the perfect fabric).  This is the line drawing.    Here is my back view before I added the belt carriers:
According to the model, the sleeves were supposed to be 3/4 length.  Of course, they were full length on me and I kept them that way.  Other than that, this fit perfectly, size 40 with no alterations.  This lined coat has raglan sleeves, interesting cuff detail, and great collar.  I added a little bling buckle on the sleeve.  This is for the holiday season, after all!
I’ll NEVER get used to the required pattern tracing.  I HATE pattern tracing!!  (okay, I got that out of my system, ahem).  I used chocolate colored flocked silk taffeta from www.fabric.com which was wonderful to work with.  I wish I had enough fabric to make the matching coctail dress, but I don’t, so I guess I can use a solid black or even a brown, maybe.  I made the lining up first to check the fit.
Pattern directions?  yuk.  I had some head-scratching moments on how to add this back neck facing to the front facings and linings.  Also, the neck seams need to be stay-stitched and clipped in order for them to match.  Intelectually, I know this already; but, I still like to have this step included in the directions.  This is something else that one has to get used to when making up these patterns, I guess.  I did my own thing with the pockets that you can see above.  They are welt pockets with one flap.  The only other tough step is the 4-point collar.  I muddled through that, and this beautiful silk taffeta hides ALL my construction flaws.  I’ll say no more, LOL!  The roll line on the collar facing was marked on the pattern, and I taped the roll line on the under collar side.  I interfaced the facing and upper collar with a sew-in interfacing.  The only really different thing I did design-wise was change the cuff detail.  I couldn’t figure out the instructions on the "proper" way to add the buckle and tabs so I added them both to the top sleeve seam, placing the tab so that it wraps around the back and ends at front and buckles so that the strap ends face to the back:
. 
Also, I sewed on the back belt carriers, but left them off on the front.  Here’s some more pictures:
Great looking with jeans! Love this collar! And I looooove the raglan sleeves!
 
From the magazine:  "A fancy trenchcoat,…fashionistas may well like it so much that they’ll even wear it on its own as a dress…"  This is waay to short for me to wear it like this, but  for you younger ladies with legs that go on forever, go for it!
 
 
Worn with my new-for-the-season black suede Unisa pumps.  Oh, DSW, how do I love thee?  Let me count the ways…. 
I have loved reading all of the year-end wrap-up posts on all of your blogs!  This year, I’m doing one as well (sewed items as well as knits).  Hopefully, I can finish one more thing before year-end and then compile all the pictures.  I’m also pondering all of my most and least favorites of the bunch.  That one is hard!   
 
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

Enjoying a RTW FAST since 2015! Addicted to sewing since the 70's! In a few words, I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

RPT's Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

Leading UK sewing blog where we believe creativity is contagious

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

