Recent Stuff…

What’s up everyone?  Have you all recovered from your big Thanksgiving weekend?  Since mine was a double dose of busy, I’ll go ahead and say that I haven’t.  In fact, I’ve got a killer cold, complete with deep chest coughing, runny nose, etc.  NOT FUN, especially with all the stuff we all have to do to get ready for the holidays.  When I said double dose of busy, I meant it.  The weekend before Thanksgiving, I threw my parents a big 50th wedding anniversary shindig:
 
Isn’t this just the cutest picture?
So, when anyone can stay married for 50 years, it needs to be recognized, celebrated, etc, so we had family flying in from all over parts of the country.
We scanned in all these pictures from their big box of old and mixed-up photos (there wasn’t much scrapbooking going on back then) and put it on DVD and played it as a slide show.  If you do this, I recommend scanning at least 300 pictures, so that the slide show doesn’t recycle too much.  This is a TON of scanning, it takes many days and nights, but the effect was worth it!
Yes, I made both cakes!
The wedding cake is simply "Brides cake with raspberry filling" from "The Cake Mix Doctor" and the German chocolate cake, also from that great book.  Less that a week later, we had Thanksgiving Dinner at the house.  Yeah.  Busy.
So anyway, I did get some sewing in after the holiday crowd left and before sickness set in.
Altered to try and show the brown taffeta.
This is the designer trench coat from BWOF 11/2008 #134, (I think).  I sewed the lining to check the fit and I’m now ready to add the sleeves.  You can’t see them, but I added the front welt pockets  At this point, I got floored with sinus pain and the rest, so I went back to my knitting.  I can do this while laying down.  I’m still working on my full length knit coat, almost halfway through the fronts:
 
I also convinced DD that she should make a Christmas gift for one of her friends this year, so she’s knitting a scarf for her American Girl doll.  Will she finish it? Hmmm…..
That’s all for now.  Hopeully, this cold will clear out soon and I’m back on my feet in time for Christmas.  AAAAACCCHHHHOOOOOO!!!!!!
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

Enjoying a RTW FAST since 2015! Addicted to sewing since the 70's! In a few words, I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

RPT's Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

Leading UK sewing blog where we believe creativity is contagious

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

