Vogue 8546

I can’t stay for too long out of the sewing room, even though I have a bazillion other things going on right now.  This week, I’m getting the house ready for holiday visitors.  While I was folding up my ping-pong table (doubles as my cutting table), I got distracted by the 2 (or 12) projects lying out awaiting to be cut.  And, I had to cut out One More Thing….
Vogue 8546 001
I had gotten this pattern strictly for the hooded jacket to make using this loose-knit ribbed sweater knit that I got form www.fabric.com.  The loose-fitting jacket has a hood, pockets, raglan sleeves, and topstitching details.  The pattern calls for moderate stretch knits only, this knit was anything but.  I cut a size 10; I usually do this for loose fitting patterns (I’m normally a 12 in the Big 4).  Man, I think this turned out great!  Here are some views:
Vogue 8546 005
 
Vogue 8546 003
I like how this looks open, or tied closed:
Vogue 8546 007
And, I love the side seam pockets.  To cut down on bulk, it’s just one pocket piece that you topstitch to the fronts.  The hem is curved like a shirt hem:
Vogue 8546 009
And, I love this big hood!
I’ve never worked with open sweater knits before, and it was difficult to keep the seams and hems from looking homemade.  For the unseen seams, a 4-thread overlock stitch with wooly nylon in the loopers works fine.  For the hems (which are visible in this jacket), I finished the edges with a 2-thread overlock stitch with wooly nylon in the looper.  Ideally, this would be perfect if you can find wooly nylon in a matching color.  I couldn’t, but I came close, still not perfect.  I then turned the hems in and pressed under using steam-a-seam, and hand-stitched the hem using unraveled yarn from leftover scraps.  The front edges and and hood were turned under twice and sewed with a straight stitch (also using steam-a-seam).  The most visible seam of the garment is at the hood, which lays open on your back.
Vogue 8546 002
I couldn’t think of any other way to clean finish this neatly, so I hand overcast the serged seam with more unravelled yarn.  I made up the belt with leftovers.
Vogue 8546 006
 
Vogue 8546 010
 

 
 
Happy Thanksgiving!
 

 
    • Unknown
    • November 18th, 2008

    Love it!  Your sweater is so chic, so fashionable.
    Cennetta
     

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

Enjoying a RTW FAST since 2015! Creator of "DESIGNIN' DECEMBER!" Addicted to sewing since the 70's! In a few words, I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

Leading UK sewing blog where we believe creativity is contagious

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

