BWOF 10/08 Dress 115

bwofdress 002
I’m quickly moving through that bunch of fabric from the Warehouse Sale at Fabric.com.  Here’s one of the gray knits that I got (yes, just one of many!).  This is BWOF 10/2008 dress #115.  Love it!  I call this comfy-casual dress.
bwofdress 006
The dress comes together quite easily.  The center front gathering is a bit fussy, and I would suggest gathering the top and skirt in two separate steps:
bwofdress 002 - Copy
This is the center front of the top of the skirt.  The instructions tell you to gather the area between notches to a width of 2 3/4 inches,  so I cut a piece of twill tape to size and gathered and sewed to the tape.  At this point, mark your center between the pins.  Then gather the top front edges and fit them all together, making sure that the centers all meet.
bwofdress 003 - Copy
This is the center of the top.  I overlapped the right and the front by a centimeter or so, just for added "coverage insurance." Line up the center of the top with the center of the skirt, make sure the notches go together, and sew it up!  According to my measurements, I cut out a size 38, but the dress was a bit big, and I took in about an inch all over.  I’m still getting down the sizing on these patterns, this is only the second BWOF I’ve made.
bwofdress 003
Also, I left off the little tab in the center front (lazy, didn’t think the dress needed it).
bwofdress 005
Super comfy, super cute.  This is a fairly thick knit, and it still drapes well.
bwofdress 004
I’m loving this dress paired with the tights!
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

Enjoying a RTW FAST since 2015! Creator of "DESIGNIN' DECEMBER!" Addicted to sewing since the 70's! In a few words, I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

Leading UK sewing blog where we believe creativity is contagious

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

