Sweater Knits!

Simplicity costume 005
Don’t you just love seeing all the great sweater knits out in the stores these days?  If you’ve been reading for a while, you know that I got 2 different ones at the www.fabric.com sale recently.  I wanted to make a sweater dress, but I was hoping to NOT have to buy a new pattern for it.  I’m on a serious, pattern-buying diet, and I’m limiting myself to patterns that I REALLY love!  Anyway, it’s always a great "jump for joy" when I can find an old pattern from my stash to use.  This one is Vogue 2030, out of print.
IMG_0954
Remember this one?  From 1997, Open-mouthed.
From the envelope, "loose-fitting, pullover dress (close-fitting through hips), above ankle, or top has dropped shoulders, back zipper, and long sleeves with stitched hems."  This wordrobe pattern also has a vest, jacket, pants, and wrap skirt. 
Simplicity costume 007
This was easy and quick to make.  I cut the front and back on the fold, eliminated the back zipper, and serged all the seams.  This pattern runs really large, but it’s cute!  I took in almost 4 inches total above the waist (after these pictures were taken) and tapering out to the sleeve ends.  Honestly, I don’t think it made much difference, LOL.  This knit grows!
Simplicity costume 009
 (Playing with belt options)
 
Simplicity costume 010
(playing with accessories).
    • margaret
    • October 31st, 2008

    Another pretty dress. I love the color. Love the jeans too. With the stretch dinim, how do you straighten the grain? I pulled a thread but could not get the material straight.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

Enjoying a RTW FAST since 2015! Addicted to sewing since the 70's! In a few words, I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

RPT's Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

Leading UK sewing blog where we believe creativity is contagious

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

