Okay…not there yet

Today I finished my 3rd rendition of Simplicity 4076.  I tweaked it a bunch this time, with some, ah, interesting results.  Here are my first 2 views:
sewing 002
 
Simplicity4076 001
 
sewing 003
As you can see on me, there is pulling across the front under arm, and this occurs across the other view also.  In fact, this happens with almost everything I make.  It’s subtle, you can only notice it when I "pose" like this, but it drives me nuts!  The shoulder and side seams are where they are supposed to be; the top shoulder seam, back shoulders and sides are all fine.  What’s up with this?  I’ve been on the warpath now for some time trying to figure this out.  I’ve tried several different adjustments for this, all with varying results.  For my 3rd try at this blouse, I tried an adjustment that I had read about over at two on two off.
Simplicity4076 001
I shortened the front, back, and sleeve cap about 1/4", between the shoulder and the under arm.  Here is the result:
Simplicity4076 002
 
Simplicity4076 004
eeehhh, no.  Shame, too ’cause I really like this color.
Simplicity4076 005
Oh yes, the other adjustment I made was to add one inch length to the waist (much better!).  The odd thing is that I’ve worn this top all day today (along with these pants) and it is so comfortable at the arms.  Too bad it looks like ass across the bust now.  Back to the drawing board for some more head scratching on this one.  I think I’ll go back to re-drafting the front armscye curve only, just bringing it in about 1/4 inch.  Sometimes that works, sometimes, not.  Maybe I should consider doing an FBA?  IS THIS THE ANSWER??  *walking away, scratching my head*
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

Enjoying a RTW FAST since 2015! Creator of "DESIGNIN' DECEMBER!" Addicted to sewing since the 70's! In a few words, I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

Leading UK sewing blog where we believe creativity is contagious

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

