Closet Purge

It’s always good and necessary to riffle through and clean out household closets occasionally.  I recently did a closet purge of my own clothes, donating a pile of unworn or non-fitting stuff.  Since I do a lot of sewing, it’s to be expected that some of my own homemade and dearly loved (at some point) garments will make it into this pile at some point.  This time, for better or worse, I said "goodbye" to several of my own garments.  I thought I’d "pay tribute" to them here, before they moved on to someone who might love and wear them more.
IMG_0908
These pants are made up in a comfortable heavy weight linen.  This is a Sandra Betzina pattern, now OOP.  The fit is fabulous, the instructions and techniques are great.  I love the front pocket construction:
IMG_0910
Note the understitching, and I think there was some ease stitching along the edge to help the pocket curve over the hip area.  I loved these pants, but not anymore.  I don’t ever wear them, they have front pleats and sit at the waist, so not what I want anymore.  Someone will love them.
IMG_0911
Red tulip skirt, Vogue 7025, another SB pattern.
IMG_0918
And finally:
IMG_0912
 Cute simple bias skirt made from a rayon print 10 years ago (!) from this pattern:
IMG_0919
Vogue 9541- Super easy, one pattern piece, 2 skirt pieces sewn together with an elastic casing.
(apparently, shiny skirts were big in the mid nineties!)
Again, I highly recommend any of these patterns, if you can find them somewhere.  How bad is it that I’m getting rid of the clothes but keeping the patterns? Open-mouthed  At least I have more room in my closet now.  Have a great weekend!
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

Enjoying a RTW FAST since 2015! Addicted to sewing since the 70's! In a few words, I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

RPT's Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

Leading UK sewing blog where we believe creativity is contagious

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

