Vogue 1051

IMG_0917
I’ve been wanting these for a while and finally got around to making a nice pair of Alice+Olivia pants out of a stiff heavy tan twill.  This is Vogue 1051, and I must say, they are "all that and then some!"  Here are the neat details:
Vogue1051 002
The real fly front, done up with great instructions.  Note how short the fly is.  The zipper end extends out the top as you construct the fly.  You’ll cut this off after the waistband  is added.  I should have used a tan color zipper, but "midnight sewing" requires that one uses what’s available in one’s stash Open-mouthed.
Vogue1051 001
The front and back pockets do up nicely, thanks to the excellent instructions and pictures.  I could not have done these without the detailed steps.  One piece of advice here:  make sure your front welts (shown in the front above) are PERFECTLY straight across.  You can see that mine are slightly off, tilting up towards the center.  This came back to bite me later as I sewed the waistband on, because I sewed them right into the seam.  This is not as crucial for the back welts because they face downward.  No worries there about "catching" the welts in the waist seam. 
IMG_0916
 
IMG_0915
The pattern notes that the top of the pants should sit at about 2 1/2 inches below the waist.  I don’t like my pants sitting that far down, so I didn’t make my usual petite adjustment at the hip.  I did take the usual 2 inches off the leg length.  These sit comfortably, at about 1 inch below my natural waist, minimizing the muffin top.
IMG_0914 - Copy
back button detail.
The waistband has a facing and I used a printed quilting cotton for that and the pockets:
Vogue1051 003
I fused stay tape to the waistband of the facing.  These pants are very snug, so this should help to cut down on stretching and bagging.  The same fabric was used for the pockets as well.  I wanted the right side of the pocket fabric to face out, so I reversed the sides when making them.  I really love these!  I love the wide leg.  I’ve got these already cut out again in a dark stretch denim.  I now also want to go back and try Vogue 2907, my other Alice+Olivia pattern.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

Enjoying a RTW FAST since 2015! Creator of "DESIGNIN' DECEMBER!" Addicted to sewing since the 70's! In a few words, I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

Leading UK sewing blog where we believe creativity is contagious

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

