My First BWOF Garment

BWOF 011
Okay, so this is do-able, with all the tracing and bad instructions.  If you’ve never attempted a BWOF pattern, don’t panic, have fun, and start with something easy.  This is jacket 103A from 9/2008.  And, no, it looks nothing like the picture.  I was going for the cropped jacket look, tied at the waist, in black.  The pattern called for a jersey and I couldn’t find one that I liked.  I used a yucky moleskin from Joanne’s that shifted, wouldn’t press, stretched, and other bad things, so I didn’t want to handle it too much.  No zippers and no belt carriers.  The only tricky part was the notched collar.  The front neck has a turned corner that needs to be reinforced and clipped.  I did my own thing and since I was in a hurry, I forgot to interface the collar.  Everything else comes together well.  I wanted a wrap-around look with no closures.  The back is just 2 pieces, with a center back seam:
BWOF 004
Front view:
BWOF 002
According to my measurements, I traced and cut a size 40, but if you want a closer cut like the magazine model, go one or two sizes smaller.
Here I am, playing with some different looks:
BWOF 005
I dunno…too Robin Hood?
 
Here it is with a black shirt underneath:
BWOF 007
mmmm…maybe
 
Dressed up a bit:
BWOF 009
 
Hmm…it might be fine with nothing under:
BWOF 010
My goal for this garment was to have a layer, some sort of shawl alternative.  It’s very comfortable, and I definitely don’t have anything like this in my closet.  I think it’ll grow on me.  It’s blousy and yet ties at the waist without being too "bunchy".  I also think this would be really cute made up in a sweater knit.  Sorry for the lousy pictures, you know how bad black is to photograph.  Okay, so these patterns can be done my me…think I’m ready for this coatOpen-mouthed Mine will be plaid, lined and cut a bit smaller so it’s not too boxy.  That one will require a muslin, dang it.
    • Shannon
    • September 22nd, 2008

    I was looking at this jacket too – now that I see your version, I like it all the better!  What a great layering piece.  BTW, I think it looks great with the white turtleneck underneath – my first impression was certainly not Robin Hood!

    • Unknown
    • September 26th, 2008

    Love this jacket.  It looks great on you, and I like all of your potential outfits photographed.
    Cennetta

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

Enjoying a RTW FAST since 2015! Addicted to sewing since the 70's! In a few words, I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

RPT's Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

Leading UK sewing blog where we believe creativity is contagious

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

