Tunic Terrific

28363_in_l   toryburchtunic
I must have these two Tory Burch tunics!  They’re only between $200-$300, at www.net-a-porter.com .  Here’s my version:
 
Simplicity 4149 001
 
Simplicity 4149 003
 
Pattern:  Simplicity 4149
Fabric:  tie-dyed cotton from Gail K’s in Atlanta, GA. 
Beaded neckline:  pearls, in sticks and beads from Fire Mountain Gems.
This is a very simple tunic to make up, I did this in a day, including the beading on the neck.  The front and back piece are cut on the fold; there’s also a sleeve, neck facing and back neck pattern.  The nice thing about this pattern is that the back neck "facing" is a simple bias piece.  The front neck piece is typical construction, sew the neck pieces together in the vee shape, cut down very close to the stitching and turn.  The beads were attached by stringing them first, then couching the beads down to the surface. 
And now we get to the obvious:  the left boob circle…AAAAACCCCKKKK!  @#$%!  Perfectly placed, huh?  I actually saw it when I was cutting it out and thought I had enough space between the circle and the dart.  So…2 inches away from the bust point is not enough.  It’s still noticable, I’d go with 7-8 inches…at least. *sigh* 
The other issue is that the sleeves had a lot of ease in them, so I’ll need to decrease that next time to avoid all the puckers.  I want another tunic, this time in a print similar to the butterfly top.  I’ll try a forward shoulder adjustment, and possibly use 1/2" seam allowances for a bit more room.  Try this with a drape-y cotton, something with stretch would do well, also.  And don’t forget to embelish the neck!
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

Enjoying a RTW FAST since 2015! Addicted to sewing since the 70's! In a few words, I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

RPT's Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

Leading UK sewing blog where we believe creativity is contagious

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

