Vogue 8229 Again

vogue8229 002
Finished another top version of Vogue 8229 with some fabric I picked up at Gail K’s.  (Gawd, I luv that store!) I did some more things differently, mainly, I left off the back darts.  I drew a new hem right below the back dart markings, but I think I could go a bit lower.  I didn’t use a zipper, this top slides overhead easily.
vogue8229 004 
Back View
I did leave the center back seam, cutting two back pieces (as opposed to turning it into one piece) because the cb seam in this pattern is curved.  Hmm…maybe next time I make this I’ll eliminate it and straighten out the line.
vogue8229 009
The armhole was turned under and finished using satin bias tape.
vogue8229 008
As much as I like this pattern and this style of neckline, I get tired and lazy with all the handstitching that’s required.  Here, I needed to understitch the neck edge with a hand prick stitch. 
vogue8229 006
I was planning on hand-stitching the facing and collar together at the outer edges, but I got impatient and topstitched instead.  It turned out nice enough.  I like this satin-y fabric.  It’s a poly blend and didn’t press well.  Plus, the fabric has glitter somehow embossed on the surface, so pressing was kept to a minimum.
vogue8229 003
On to the next project!
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

In a few words, I am addicted to sewing! I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

RPT's Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

A sewing and knitting blog

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

