Vogue 1027

Vogue1027 002
Pattern:  Vogue 1027    Notions:  1/4" wide elastic that I didn’t use.  Fabric:  matte jersey.  This DKNY pattern is a calf length dress, has semi-fitted, pleated and lapped bodice, bias skirt with inseam pockets (I didn’t use those either) and stitched hems.  The elastic is meant to be slipped into the waist seam allowance that you stitch into a casing.  I didn’t think I needed it.  Other interesting details:
Cut-on cap sleeves that you finish with included facing patterns.  I’ve not trimmed them up yet in this picture.
Vogue1027 008
 
Interesting (or different at least) belt finish.  The instructions have you partially attaching the belt,
Vogue1027 007
 
and at a single (bodice) seam, so the width of the belt sort of "floats" at the waist:
Vogue1027 006
If you follow the pattern instructions, the free ends of the belt edges are supposed to be clean finished, which means the wrong sides of the fabric would be visible.  Instead, I chose to stitch the length of the ends together wrong sides and turn them right sides out.  The only thing you give up doing it this way is a wider belt (that could be prettier, who knows?).
The neckline:
Vogue1027 005 
To finish the neckline edge, I used Sandra Betzina’s method of taking a strip of fabric, stitch right sides together at the neck edge, flip the strip under and stitch in the ditch.  When I applied the binding, I stretched it just slightly when I was attaching it.  The stretching probably wasn’t necessary, because this has a very nice non-gaping neck.  I used a solid matte jersey from Vogue Fabrics, and I liked it so much that I made another shorter version!  This jersey also came from Vogue Fabrics.  I love the cap sleeves.
Vogue1027 004
 
For the neckline here, I used a strip of self fabric and sewed a facing.  For some reason, it puckered a bit around the neck, but this print is so busy, it’s not notice-able.
Vogue1027 009
 
Keep in mind that the line drawing is fairly accurate in that the front sits higher than the back, as you can see in the above pictures also:
Vogue1027 013
 
The skirt is very full, which means you have to tape pattern pieces together before cutting out the skirt piece.
Vogue1027 012
 
For the hem, I used another SB technique with double needle and stitched a hem using wooly nylon in the bobbin.
Vogue1027 011
Okay, I’m not making any more dresses for a while!  I’ve got enough!
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

Enjoying a RTW FAST since 2015! Addicted to sewing since the 70's! In a few words, I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

RPT's Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

Leading UK sewing blog where we believe creativity is contagious

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

