Simplicity 2923

Simplicity2923 007

I finally got around to completing my shirtdress! Yea!  I made up Simplicity 2923 in this bargain bin cotton from Hancocks.  According to the writing on the selvege of this fabric, it’s called "Gypsy Caravan" by Cynthia Tomaszewski, designed exclusively for Hancock Fabrics.  Hmm!  I didn’t realize Hancock’s used "exclusive designers"!  I learn something new every day and I digress….Anyway, this is a great pattern, with lots of interesting seam details:
Simplicity2923 004 
This is a Project Runway pattern, which means lots of design choices in one pattern, including sleeve length and type (puffy or straight), collar type (notched or plain), and skirt type (a-line or straight).
Simplicity2923 005
The back features a rounded yoke.  The top features raglan sleeves and front and back waist pleats that attach to the skirt.  I made up the puffy sleeve option, which really isn’t that puffy, since the top of the sleeve is done up with an inverted box pleat.  The gathering occurs at the sleeve hem:
Simplicity2923 006
I made a size 12, straight out of the package, with no adjustments.  If I were to make this again I might shorten the top length a bit, something I never have to do.  So, carefully measure your pattern’s waist-to-back length.  For the skirt, I chose the flared version:
Simplicity2923 002
This is the full unhemmed skirt version, just to give you an idea of how it would look on a 5’4"-ish body.  I’m still trying out different belts, not too happy with this one.  I like the length here, and I went back and forth trying to decide if I wanted to shorten the hem.  In the end, I cut off about 9" and hemmed it shorter:
Simplicity2923 008
From the cut-off hem, I made a self-fabric belt.  I’m definately making this one again, in a solid.  Love this!
Other views:
Simplicity2923 001
 
Simplicity2923 007
 
And, finally (and I do mean FINALLY):
Leontine
I got around to blocking my tank top and hopefully I can stitch this baby up today.

 
 
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

In a few words, I am addicted to sewing! I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

RPT's Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

A sewing and knitting blog

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

