Vogue 8232

vogue8232 006

Pattern:  Vogue 8232
Fabric: Cotton Damask
Description:  Unlined, below waist jacket is open at front, has neckline gathered onto neckband, and above elbow length sleeve.
Changes I made:  I added about 3 inches to the sleeve length and took up about 2 inches in fullness at the sleeve hem.  I also added a facing at the jacket hem, using a 1/4 inch seam.  I did this because I thought it was really short and I didn’t want to shorten it any more with a hem.  The facing was just a 2 inch wide strip of fabric that I sewed to the bottom and turned under.  I think this added some necessary weight to the jacket.  I also added topstitching and finished the sleeve seams with a hong kong seam.
vogue8232 004
 
vogue8232 003
I also added some surface detail with little false welts on the front.  I cut out 4 rectangles, sewed them right sides together, turned, pressed, and stitched to the front.  I then turned the top edges of the welts down and sewed on some buttons:
vogue8232 001
Likes/Dislikes:  I like how this jacket is cut very close under the arms.  This is really meant to be worn as a Summer cover, under sleevless tops.  I wasn’t crazy about the shortness of the sleeves, sitting right above the elbow, so I added length and made them 3/4 sleeves.
vogue8232 002
Back View:
vogue8232 005
This is a great little top.  It’s not meant to be closed.  I saw this as a blank canvass, where one could really dress this up with lots of detail and decoration, or keep it very simple and plain.

 
 
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

Enjoying a RTW FAST since 2015! Addicted to sewing since the 70's! In a few words, I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

RPT's Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

Leading UK sewing blog where we believe creativity is contagious

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

