Vogue 8448

 Vogue8449 001
I had a formal fundraising function to attend this past weekend and I literally whipped this up in a few hours with some overlock material that I found on the bargain table at Hancocks.  I think the whole dress cost me $12.  The pattern is Vogue 8448.  From the envelope, it is an "unlined, flared, halter dress in three lengths:  above mid-knee, below mid-calf, or evening length with train."  I think it would have been fun to see what the dress looked like with the train, but I only had 3 1/4 yards fabric.  The full-length view calls for 5-6 yards of fabric.  Also, the pattern calls for fabrics with 2-way stretch.
1
This was sooooo easy to make, can I tell you?  The dress was only 2 pattern pieces, 2 fronts and 2 backs.  The line drawing on the envelope is pretty accurate, so if you don’t like backless dresses, this one may not be for you.
Vogue8449 002
It’s also pretty low cut in the front for my taste, so I did some serious tacking in the front and back (see above and below picture).  I tacked the back about 2 inches above the knot:
Vogue8449 007
Finish the neckline and back by simply turning under the seam allowance and stitching.  Or, try some other pretty finishing embelishments.  I attached a fold-over elastic.  Just stitch right sides together, stretching the elastic slightly and turn under.
Vogue8449 006
I really like the front and back views of this dress.  The side view?  well…
Vogue8449 003
There’s a knot at the lower front and back and no "supportive help" at the bust to offset the look.  Plus, the weight of the long dress pulls everything down further.  I ended up taking in 2 inches at the neck to bring the waist seams up to where they should be.  If you made a shorter dress, you wouldn’t have this problem.  If the bare shoulders and back bother you, wear it like this:
Vogue8449 008
I love the drape of the skirt.  I think it’s an overall great looking dress.  The bonus? This shawl cost more than the dress.  I think my overall look cost about $35.00.Open-mouthed
    • margaret
    • May 19th, 2008

    So glad you finally put up a picture of the dress. It looks beautiful on you and I’m glad you had a chance to wear it. The shawl is pretty too but I think the dress alone would have been perfect. M

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

In a few words, I am addicted to sewing! I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

RPT's Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

A sewing and knitting blog

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

