Vogue 8021

I would love to say that this pattern worked for me, but…ah…no, it didn’t.
simp 011
Oh, it looks cute on the form, and it looks decent in the front:
simp 007
But the back?
simp 005
ACK!
The majority of the problem came from my poor choice of fabric, which was an off-white handkerchief linen.  The rest of the problem was the ill-fitting pattern.  Oh, I chould have cut the way too wide shoulder seams down and fixed the upper problems, but there’s no fixing these gawd-awful and unflattering back hip inverted pleats.  The fabric, though was the worst thing.  How could one fabric that is so light and sheer that one has to wear slips with this dress be so unagreeable at laying against the body? Let’s not even talk about the wrinkling, I could live with that.
simp 006
See what I mean, with the nice butt pouf?
Okay, so I really want a shirtdress for the Spring/Summer season, and there are some better patterns out there, like definitely Simplicity 2923 or Mccalls 5378.  I really wanted this one to work.  Every review of this pattern on PR was very favorable, but even in a better behaving fabric, those pesky back pleats just wouldn’t do it for me.  Conclusion:  this is a Very Easy Vogue pattern, very easy to put together, and if you’re lucky enough to have no backside or hips, then this would be the perfect pattern for you.  Try this in a stretch sateen or nice cotton.  As for me, even if I did finish this up and fix the fit I wouldn’t love it, so why bother?  It would just hang in the closet unworn.  So…back to the cutting board we go!
simp 009
Oh yes, I’m wearing a slip under this, and it’s MOST uncomfortable…I HATE slips!Baring teeth
 
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

Enjoying a RTW FAST since 2015! Creator of "DESIGNIN' DECEMBER!" Addicted to sewing since the 70's! In a few words, I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

Leading UK sewing blog where we believe creativity is contagious

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

