Simplicity 2938

I love the color yellow and I’ve seen so much of it in the style magazines and catalogues for Spring.  Check this picture out that I pulled from In Style Magazine:
ToryBirch 001
This picture of Angie Harmon in a Tory Burch top standing by the designer is so gorgeous!  You can see a bunch of yellow in the most recent Spiegel catalogue also.  Wouldn’t you know it, EricaB found the perfect pattern to inspire me to make my own version of the Tory Burch yellow top!  Thanks, Erica!  Here’s my version, made with yellow silk charmeuse.
simp 003
Pattern Description: This is Simplicity 2938 and consists of pants, top, jacket and dress.  This is such a cute top and fits great!  It is also very easy.  I made it slightly harder by adding a lining, a yellow china silk.
simp 004
This has a princess seam in front and 4 pleats at the front neck.  To make it more like the TB shirt, I added self ties in the seam.  The pattern calls for a zipper, but since I HATE zippers, I skipped it, and ya know what?  IT WORKED!  It’s a tight squeeze, but there’s enough ease and the silk makes it slippery enough to slide over my head.
simp 001
 
simp 002
The instructions were very easy, and I didn’t follow them much anyway.  I love this pattern;  good fit, no zipper, what’s not to love?  I’ll be making the dress version also.
Fabric Used:  silk charmeuse for the fabric and china silk for the lining.
Pattern alterations/design changes:  The pattern has facings included, which are not pleated at the front neck.  I didn’t use the facings this time, since I lined it.  I simply cut out the same pattern pieces, which means that the lining pieces are pleated also.  This is somewhat bulky and if I lined this again, I would figure out how to eliminate the pleating on the lining.
Conclusion: I like this pattern so much, that I’ve already got the dress version cut and in the sewing "inbox".</b>
 
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

In a few words, I am addicted to sewing! I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

RPT's Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

A sewing and knitting blog

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

