New Look 6621

I love my new shirt!
NewLook 003
Pattern Description: This is a close-fitting shirt with 4 sleeve options.  The back bodice is one piece with 2 darts and the front bodice is 3 shaped pieces.  I had never sewn with New Look patterns before, so I cut out a size 14 based on my measurements, but the fit was off.  It’s slowly sinking in that I need to go with a high bust measurement in order to fit the shoulder area and adjust out from there.  I left the back as a 14 and cut a 12 front and graded to 14 in the waist.  This fit better, but I could still fine-tune the fit some more.
I think this would be a flattering look on any body type:
NewLook 001
 I think it’s an updated version of the classic fitted shirt-a great wardrobe-builder.  The pattern is well-drafted and the instructions were straight-forward and easy to follow.
Likes/dislikes:  I love the feminine neck and I LOVE the included collar stand.  This is a personal preference, but I like collar stands in my shirts.  I also like the puffy sleeve version.  I tend to shy away from this look because I don’t need any more "puff" in my upper arms, but this fabric is lightweight enough so that it won’t stand away from the body.  One possible dislike would be the way the shirt opens at the bottom.  When I make another one, I will consider straightening out this bottom so that I could add buttons all the way down.  This is just a personal thing, but I’m way beyond peek-a-boo belly buttons Wink.
The fabric is a lightweight machine embroidered cotton, probably a batiste.  I got this from Vogue Fabrics many years ago.  I didn’t make any design changes, but I did get out one of my unused machine feet (the hemmer foot, the one that rolls the ends and sews at once) and finish the seam allowances:
NewLook 006
 
NewLook 008
You can’t do this with any fabric heavier than shirting, but it worked here.  Back view:
NewLook 004
Conclusion: Great pattern, I’ll make this one again.  I thought these resin rose buttons were the cutest finishing touch, but they don’t photograph as well as look up close:
NewLook 002 NewLook 007
    • Cari
    • February 9th, 2011

    I love this pattern and the fabric you used is gorgeous. I’m planning on making this shirt in the coming days and I agree that the open bottom of the shirt is a slight con. If I had the figure to pull it off maybe, but I think I’d rather cover than show it hahaha.
    Thank you for sharing this =D I think I need to go out and find myself a hemmer foot for my machine.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

Enjoying a RTW FAST since 2015! Creator of "DESIGNIN' DECEMBER!" Addicted to sewing since the 70's! In a few words, I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

Leading UK sewing blog where we believe creativity is contagious

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

