Dresses from Easters past…

Well, I have to admit that DD’s outfit I just posted previously was supposed to be this year’s Easter dress.  Hey, I did finish it Sunday afternoon, does that count? Tongue out Anyway, it didn’t work out as a Sunday go-to-church dress, and she wore something else.  But, here is another dress that I made in the past.  I think it was 2 years ago:
December 003
I made this heirloom style dress with batistes, laces, ribbons, and pintucks.  The pattern came from Sew Beautiful Magazine issue 91.  It’s from an article called "The Original Mystery Dress."  It is an antique reproduction pattern (c. 1919) that consists of a yoke dress with a gathered skirt and long sleeves and a short overlay with a beautiful square neck edged in lace.  When I made this, I used up every bit of my remaining heirloom batiste and lace from my stash. 
December 004  
Here you can see the sleeve detail where I had to piece the sleeves with both the white and blue fabric.  I was determined to not buy any more materials for this dress.  Can you count how many different laces are on this piece?  The dress in the pictorial was all white.  Plus, there were pictures of this dress made up in so many different ways-using velvet, or plaid, or oxford cloth, etc.-that it was something I couldn’t pass up.  At the time, I still prefered the heirloom look of the original dress, so I used batistes and lace.  According to the website this issue is no longer available, but maybe you could find a good copy on ebay, if you’re interested.  Heirloom sewing is basically easy, but it’s time-consuming, and slow-going.  I’m usually patient enough to make one of these dresses a year.  If you’d like to know more about this craft, check out one of the many books on the subject by Martha Pullen.  Everything she writes is helpful and well-written.
IMG_1715
Okay, the title of this picture says "Easter ’03" so I guess I made this FIVE years ago!  Yeesh, where does the time go?
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

In a few words, I am addicted to sewing! I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

RPT's Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

A sewing and knitting blog

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

