Simplicity 3904

I finished this for DD today:
 
Simplicity3904 001
 I told her to "work it!"Wink
Pattern Description: This is Simplicity 3904, a "That’s So Raven" pattern, which consists of a dress or tunic, and pants for girls sizes 8-16.  This is such a cute pattern and was a great hit with DD.  I love any pattern with cut-on sleeves (how easy), and the front neck band detailing is so of-the-moment.  It also has side ties that tie to the back. 
Fabric Used:  I took a bit of a risk when I chose the combination of this great print jersey with a contrast band of poly twill woven.  It was the only thing I could find that matched this print. However, the pattern envelope tells us that it is suitible for wovens and jerseys.  How cool is that?
Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made:  The pattern instructions tell you to interface the neck contrast, but I skipped the interfacing because the poly twill was stiff enough compared to the soft jersey.  I also serged all seams and turned under the facing seams and topstitched on the outside for a cleaner finish.  I eliminated the contrast bands on the sleeves and bottom of the skirt at her request.  She wanted to wear this as a tunic, but I prefer a dress, so we compromised (sort of) and I just turned under the hem on the edges.  Here’s a picture of it worn as a dress:
 
Simplicity3904 003
 
Simplicity3904 002
 
Of course I’d recommend this to others and I’ll make this one again! It’s a multisize pattern, and I even went so far as to trace off the smaller size so the pattern would remain intact.  The one "iffy" issue is at the neck.  She can barely fit her head through the opening, so if you’re using a woven at the neck area, check the child’s head measurements to be sure that she can pull it over her head.
Conclusion: On the day I finished this, we were scheduled to meet friends out for dinner.  She asked "Mom, can I wear this tonight to dinner?" Well, heck!  What more of a compliment do I need than that?
 
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

In a few words, I am addicted to sewing! I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

RPT's Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

A sewing and knitting blog

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

