Vogue 1026

vogue 1026 001
 
Pattern Description:  Close-fitting, lined dress has front darts, front princess seams, waist darts, front pleat underlay, flaps, back darts, thread loops, invisible zipper, contrast bands and contrast flap facings…length is 2 inches above mid-knee.
For this dress, I cut a size 10 and added 1/4 inch to the entire length of the side seams.
The instructions were very easy to follow.  The lining directions and patterns were different from that of the dress.  The pleat is in the dress part only, and not on the lining:
 
Vogue1026 002Vogue1026 003
 
 
Inside of dress:
Vogue1026 011
 
The dress has some interesting front details, including the front skirt pleat, and interesting neck band and waist seaming.  One of the trickiest issues with the front is at the front waist, where the bottom skirt meets with the top princess seam.  The skirt has 2 darts that taper up to meet at the princess seam on the top.  I treated this intersection like I would a 4-point collar.  Make sure you mark everything very well, and sew only up to the points.  The pattern was drafted well, so the 3 seams met up nicely.  If you have trouble with it, though, don’t worry, it’s all covered over by the belt!  For the lining, I stated in the previous post about that pesky inside curve.
  I used a shifty and ravely silk brocade that I block fused with a woven fusible.  The contrast is the wrong side of the fabric…yes, except for the belt where I ran out of fabric and had to find something that would come close to matching, and of course, it doesn’t come very close Angry.
 
vogue 1026 003
 
vogue 1026 002
 
 
These were taken before I secured the hem.  This pattern is great, but IMO, I wouldn’t classify it as Easy.  Directions are given for making hanging loops and binding the hem edge.  Now that I’m finished with it, I really love it, wonky-colored belt and all.  I love the A-line skirt and the pleat; this makes wearing it so comfortable; It’ll make a great Easter dress, or Summer coctail dress…now if it’ll only get warm.
 
vogue 1026 005
 
Side view:
 
vogue 1026 004
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

Enjoying a RTW FAST since 2015! Creator of "DESIGNIN' DECEMBER!" Addicted to sewing since the 70's! In a few words, I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

Leading UK sewing blog where we believe creativity is contagious

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

