Vogue 1026

Vogue1026 008

Here’s what I’ve been working on lately, Vogue 1026, a Badgely Mishka Platinum pattern from Vogue Patterns.  I’m loving how this is turning out!  I still have some finishing touches to do on it; the skirt has a center front pleat that I’ve not released and I need to finish the zipper and hem, as well as make the belt.  Here’s a picture of the lining:

Vogue1026 001

 
The pattern has separate pieces for  the lining, and there is no pleat here on the center front:
 
Vogue1026 004
 
I wouldn’t classify this one as "easy" as the good people at Vogue Patterns did, but it is turning out nicely.  You can see on the front lining that the top front is a princess seam.  The side front is one piece with the bottom skirt.  The shaping at the waist comes from darts on the bottom that meet at the princess seams from the top.  This is interesing, unusual, and pretty.  Just mark everything carefully.  The front facing contrast band is tricky, too.  If it matters to you, (after all, this is the lining) I suggest following Claire Schaffer’s method for inside corners from her book "Couture Sewing Techniques." 
 
Back:
Vogue1026 010
 
I’ve still got basting stitches in the back zipper and I’ll be attaching the lining to the zipper by hand.  The fabric is a sage colored brocade that my SIL gave me.  The neck contrast is the wrong side of the brocade.  I think sil’s father got it over 20 years ago while stationed in Japan in the navy.  It’s beautiful, but extremly shifty, even when I block fused the entire piece with a woven fusible.  Plus, I didn’t have enough to finish the belt.  I found something close to it at Hancock’s yesterday, so we’ll see.  I’ll keep working on it on post a PR review later, hopefully tomorrow!

    • Shannon
    • March 9th, 2008

    That dress is on my list of "garments to sew in the near future."  Your version is looking great!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

Enjoying a RTW FAST since 2015! Creator of "DESIGNIN' DECEMBER!" Addicted to sewing since the 70's! In a few words, I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

Leading UK sewing blog where we believe creativity is contagious

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

