Vogue 8435

Bear with me on this one, I had to edit these photos a lot in order for the black velvet to show up.
 
Vogue8435 002
 
I needed something formal-ish to wear as a coverup to a party, but I didn’t want a small shawl, or a more dramatic cape.  I think this pattern came close to what I wanted:  something with sleeves, yet has an interesting front drape-y fold detail.
Pattern Description: Pattern contains a jacket, t-shirt, skirt, and pants.  Designed for knits, the unlined jacket is loose-fitting with front collar and band.  The front is simply entended so that it drapes downward.  The collar is a simple rectangle.  Instructions are included to make an unlined version or a reversible version.  I made size 10, unlined, straight out of the package.
 
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? yes
 
Were the instructions easy to follow? yes.  Still, though, as with many Big 4 patterns, the instructions have you setting in the sleeves after the sides and shoulders have already been stitched up.  For knit garments, I like to put sleeves in flat, before stitching up the side seam.
 
What did you particularly like  or dislike about the pattern? I like this jacket.  The sleeves are comfortable, somewhat snug.  I’ve fixed and fussed with it on my form so that you can see as much detail as possible; on me, the amount of fabric in the front causes the side seams to drift towards the back.  This creates a swing jacket-type look on me.  Here you can hopefully see the front detail.
 
Vogue8435 005
 
Fabric Used:  I used a black stretch velvet from Gail K’s in Atlanta.  I cut all pieces out with the nap facing in the same direction and I hand basted every seam (not fun, but it must be done with all velvets).
 
Vogue8435 003
 
I basted and then sewed clear elastic into the shoulder seams.  For the hem, I serged the ends with wooly nylon in the looper and turned it under and sewed (hand-basting first).  The collar is a simple but long rectange with a facing cut out of the same pattern.  I attached the collar to the fronts and neck first, then attached the facing to the collar.  For the neck edge, I turned under the facing seam allowance and attached it to the garment with a prick stitch by hand.
Would you sew it again? I’m not sure, this is fairly distinctive.  I would recommend others try it, though.  It’s pretty easy to make.
 
Conclusion: 
 
Vogue8435 007
 
You can see from the bottom front that this jacket is designed to drape in soft folds in front.  On my garment, the fronts tend to fall open, exposing the wrong sides.  Be sure to clean-finish these edges.  If you’re using a lighter weight knit, you could probably get away with a simple rolled hem.  Here’s a back view:
 
Vogue8435 004
 
There’s enough fabric on this garment front to be able to wear it like this if you choose (with one side draped over the shoulder):
 
Vogue8435 006
 
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

Enjoying a RTW FAST since 2015! Creator of "DESIGNIN' DECEMBER!" Addicted to sewing since the 70's! In a few words, I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

Leading UK sewing blog where we believe creativity is contagious

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

