Vogue 7898

What is it about post holidays that get me into the "organizing project mode"?  It’s always some sort of cleaning-out-of something.  This year it was a closet that sits under the stairs.  What does this have to do with sewing, you ask?  Well, the closet sits right next to the sewing room/office (no, I don’t have my own sewing room Baring teeth).  Once I cleaned said closet out, I thought I would venture into my sewing room closet and look into cleaning out my stash and project areas.  I did a fairly decent job, nothing earth shattering, but I did find a piece of fabric that might fall into the "what was she thinking?" category.  I vaguely remember buying this metallic slinky thinking "I need to step out of my comfort zone".  This is definately not a "comfort zone" type fabric.  I knew I needed just the right pattern to use up this fabric.  I had Vogue 7898 in my stash.  Here’s the review:
 
vogue7898
 
 
Pattern Description: (from envelope) Close-fitting below mid-knee dress has self tie, purchased ring and stitched hems.  I used size 10 sleeveless view A.
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? yes
Were the instructions easy to follow?  yes, very!
What did you particularly like  or dislike about the pattern?  The pattern is great! It’s the fabric I’m not so sure of.  I either look fabulous or like a big penny.  Metallics are still in, right?
Fabric Used:  This crazy slinky knit that has an allover paint dot treatment.  The paint dots make it tricky to press.  Fortunately, my teflon pressing sheet worked.
Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made:  I made no alterations, but I ran short of fabric and cut the right front on the cross grain, big no-no with slinky because it stretches much more than in the direction of the selvage.  The other change I made was to make the tie out of two pieces sewed right sides together and turned out.  I couldn’t just serge a rolled hem around the edges of one thickness because the painted dots on the slinky made it too stiff (believe me, I tried). 
Would you sew it again? Most definitely!  Others have reviewed this pattern and had success, I did too.
Conclusion:  I really like the pattern.  The fabric, I not so sure of.  Well, it is a whole lotta look.  DH’s company holiday party will be in December, and I’ll probably wear this.  Other views:
 
vogue7898
 
vogue7898
 
vogue7898
 
The wrinkles on the skirt are there because I’d not pressed the folds out of the yardage before sewing.  I’ll press ’em out before wearing this (that is, IF I wear this!).
 
 
 
  1. January 13th, 2013

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

Enjoying a RTW FAST since 2015! Addicted to sewing since the 70's! In a few words, I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

RPT's Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

Leading UK sewing blog where we believe creativity is contagious

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

