Christmas Dress Done!

 I finally did the finishing touches today hung this up, ready for the Christmas Season.

SewbeautifulLaura 002

The pattern for this dress is called Laura and it’s from Sew Beautiful Magazine, issue #92, 2004.  However, in the most recent issue (#114), Janet Gilbert made it up in cream wool flannel.  The article is called Beaded Ivory Ensemble.  The matching shrug is from the pattern Pascale, also given in issue #114.  I went straight by the directions, altering the original pattern for the box pleats according to Janet’s instructions.  I set sharp pleats using her wax paper pressing method listed in the article.  Here’s a close-up of the beautiful and crazy-expensive ribbon, purchased from Martha Pullen:
 
SewbeautifulLaura 003 
 
I blind-stitched the ribbon on each side to a strip of the wool and piped the edges with some cream colored baby piping I had in my stash.  Closures were machine botton-holes and covered buttons.  The waist band is held together with 2 clear snaps on each side of the ribbon.  Here’s a back view:
 
SewbeautifulLaura 006
 
The entire dress and shrug is lined with white china silk.  I made no design changes from the dress in the article, except using a different lining and omiting the beading.  This pattern is great for the tween in your sewing life.  And, finally, if it’s not obvious yet that I love sewing fancy children’s clothes, here’s a bad picture of one of my favorite dresses from Christmas Past:
 
CollarsEtc (2) 
 
This is such a beautiful green colored velvet with a white silk ribbon embroidered collar.  The pattern is, of course, Yoke Dresses I from Collars Etc.  Only the yoke is lined in this heavy velvet dress.  Lesson learned in making this dress: don’t forget to pay attention to your nap layout when cutting out your patterns.  I didn’t and realized after sewing this together that I cut the front out wrong.  Happy Holidays!
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

In a few words, I am addicted to sewing! I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

RPT's Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

A sewing and knitting blog

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

