Burda Style 8125C

OK, so I needed a white elephant gift for my Sunday School class’s Christmas party in 2 days. I had a little time to go to the mall and find something-oh, wait! I forgot!  I entered the PR Holiday Sewing Contest! But I only have 2 days! What should I make? Oh, wait! I forgot! I had registered at www.burdastyle.com and had downloaded Layla 8125C, part of a hostess set, which included oven mitts, and apron.  Best of all, it’s a free pattern.
 
Burdastyle 
 
Now, I’d never done this downloading patterns bit before, and this is a very easy pattern to print out and put together using paper from your printer.  Printable instructions are also available, but I didn’t print those out this time.  I used quilting cotton from my stash, a Christmas-y border print, and another coordinating quilting cotton for the front pocket.  To make this apron a bit more substantial, I made it reversible.  I suppose this is where the white elephant aspect of this gift comes in:
 
Burdastyle2
 
Yowza!  If you can’t tell, this is a crazy lime green print featuring the Peanuts gang waiting for the Great Pumpkin.   Trust me, it’s loud.  Still though, IMO, even the double layers of cotton don’t make this bistro-style apron stiff enough.  But, does it really matter when it’s "fabricated" to be worn at the most 4 months out of the year?  Probably not.  Next time I make this, (for myself, of course) I’ll use home dec fabrics or some soft canvas in a single layer.  Best of all, this is made up in about 2 hours.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

In a few words, I am addicted to sewing! I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

RPT's Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

A sewing and knitting blog

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

