Vogue 1792

Finally, after a long while, I’ve decided I’m finished with these jackets.  I really like this pattern:
 
vogue1792 (2)
 
I think It’s right at 10 years old, but I’ve made this up twice now.  Here it is in a cotton/linen:
 
vogue1792-3
 
And here again in wool/casmere:
 
vogue1792-4
 
Pattern Description:
Loose-fitting, fully interfaced, lined, above hip jacket has collar, extended shoulders, side panels, no side seams, pockets, lower bands and three-quarter sleeves…
Pattern Sizing:
8-10-12, used size 10
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
yes
Were the instructions easy to follow?
yes
What did you particularly like  or dislike about the pattern?
Likes:  no shoulder pads; I love the extended shoulders.  No easing in the set-in sleeves; I particularly love that, since I never seem to get those easily.  This is a friendly fitting, boxy jacket that has soft shaping at the side panels.  I also like the bottom strip detail, which forms little in-seam pockets in the front and the bottom button-hole.
Dislikes:  the instructions have you sewing the upper collar to the jacket and the under collar to the lining and then sewing the whole thing together.  I don’t like this method because you aren’t able to fiddle with the collar enough (I usually follow David Page Coffin’s collar methods where you make the under collar slightly smaller then stretch it to match the upper collar, thereby pulling it in closer to the body). 
Fabric Used:
Cotton-Linen blend from Vogue Fabrics.  After I washed it, it was terribly off grain so I had to spend hours and hours re-straightening the grain and then I fused lightweight interfacing to the back.  The second jacket was a wool/cashmere blend.
Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made:
On the second jacket, I eliminated the bottom band and extended all pattern pieces about 4 inches.  I did this to cut down on the amount of work I was going to have to do matching the houndstooth patterns.  Also, I left off any closures to keep a cardigan-type feel.  Plus, I’m sick of looking at it!
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Probably not; two of these in the closet is enough, but I would love to try the included dress!
Conclusion
This boxy jacket is very comfortable.  It’s close-fitting through the upper chest and arms without being tight.  I think it has a nice fit for one with broad shoulders.  It has a very Jackie-O feel.
 
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

In a few words, I am addicted to sewing! I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

RPT's Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

A sewing and knitting blog

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

