Hotpatterns DV Cosmopolitan Dress

YEA! I finished my dress.  It’s getting a bit too chilly to wear right now, but it’ll keep until Spring.
 
hpcosmo
 
 
Pattern Description:
inspired by a great Michael Kors design, these dresses will work best in fluid, drapey frabics like heavy rayon, etc…semi-fitted A-line dress has faux-wrap or scoop-front neckline, deep waistband with wrap-around ties and a center back zipper entry.  I did the wrap front.
Pattern Sizing:
I chose size 10, but I’ll pick 8 next time I make it. 
Were the instructions easy to follow?
Well, a word or two on that.  If you have sewn for any length of time, you have become accustomed to working with instructions which are written in step-by-step fashion, accompanied by detailed illustrations (for the most part).  This pattern had some instructions written, but they were more like suggestions than anything else.  Also, there were no illustrations.  One’s first reaction is to be very put off by this, of course (me included).  But, after that, I realized that this was a great opportunity to step out of my comfort zone and do my own thing.  The only time I was stumped was putting in the inset waistband.  I had to rely on the artists schematics to figure which was the top of the waistband.
What did you particularly like  or dislike about the pattern?
I don’t care to trace off my patterns onto separate tracing paper (it’s an extra step, see?).  These patterns come on regular paper and are multisized with 10 sizes included, so you should probably trace those off.  However, I’ve got many traced patterns like this in my collection, and it doesn’t stop me from buying them.
Fabric Used:
What else? the wonderful chain-link jersey from Gorgeous Fabrics.
Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made:
Several reviews have been written about eliminating the zipper, which I did also.  I also eliminated the center back seam.  If you do this, make sure your fabric is verry stretchy.  The next time I make this I will be using sweater-type knit, so I will need a zipper; I’m going to try putting it in the side seam.  This would be a whole lot less conspicuous, since it would be partially hidden by the ties.  We’ll see…  I also eliminate the facings on the neck, sewed down some lingerie elastic across the fronts and simply turned the seam allowance under and topstitched with invisible thread.  I did come back and serge the side and sleeve seams.
Conclusion
This comes together easily and it’s quite stylish!  I love it!
 
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

Enjoying a RTW FAST since 2015! Creator of "DESIGNIN' DECEMBER!" Addicted to sewing since the 70's! In a few words, I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

Leading UK sewing blog where we believe creativity is contagious

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

