Simplicity 9825

 Simplicity9825 001
 
I had gotten this skunky fabric at Jo-Ann’s, some sort of polyester "suiting," to use in a collar on another project.  I had enough left over and I thought "hey, I’ll try this quick skirt and see how it goes".  That never goes well, does it?   I should have treated it as the wearable muslin that it was and thrown it out.  But I’m always up for a challenge and kept going with it.  This fabric is garbage. Every time I messed with a seam, the stuff practically disintegrated it was so ravelly.  It also shines brightly with every new iron mark you make (see the last pic below). YUK!  I ended up lining it just to try to wear it a few times before it falls apart.  On to the pattern:
Pattern Description: 
Six skirts in one pattern.  Waistband is a yoke, skirt is 4 panels, zips up in the back.
Were the instructions easy to follow?
I had some trouble with the fit and the fabric I was using, so, for the most part, I didn’t use the directions.
What did you particularly like  or dislike about the pattern?
This should have been real easy to whip up, but when one goes into a project with those expectations, look out.  First thing, I cut out a size 10 and it was waaay too tight.  I had to resize all seams and this fit better.  For some reason, this is not a good look for me.  Remember Mom Jeans? well, this is a Mom Skirt, hitting too high on the waist and thus emphasizing all manner of tummy and hip fluff.
 
Simplicity9825 004
 
 
Fabric Used:
Ravelly poly suiting from Jo-Anns (yuk).
Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made:
The fabric was so ravelly, that I made a lining and attached it to the yoke facing.  Also the instructions have you putting in a lapped zip in the back, I just put in a centered zip.
Would you sew it again? 
Not before I had a real sit-down with this pattern and worked out some serious fitting issues with a muslin.
Conclusion
I’ll have to go through a few weeks of hard dieting and exercise before I can feel comfortable in this skirt.  If you like the form-fitting clothes, then this is a great one for you to try.  It’s ideal for skins or pleather.  Test your fit!
 
Simplicity9825 003
 
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

Enjoying a RTW FAST since 2015! Addicted to sewing since the 70's! In a few words, I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

RPT's Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

Leading UK sewing blog where we believe creativity is contagious

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

