The Sewing Workshop Tribeca Shirt

I wore this shirt/Jacket to church today:
tribecashirt 002
This is the Tribeca Shirt from The Sewing Workshop
The tribeca shirt is a simi-fitted, mid-hip shirt or jacket that has french seams, funnel neck, shoulder, bust, and waist darts, set-in two-piece sleeves and narrow hems on all edges.  I had this beautiful piece of teal silk dupioni with couched chenille (purchased from DeLea’s when the shop was in Cherry Creek, Denver, CO, loved that shop!) that I wanted to showcase.  This is a great pattern for that, as it is only 4 pattern pieces and all the shaping is done with darts.  Reviews on PR state that this pattern runs huge, and I found this to be the case also.  According to my bust measurement, I cut out a size 12, but went down to a 10 for a loose jacket style.  If I wanted this as a shirt, I would cut an 8.  I always underline silk dup with organza, but for this I wanted more body.  Plus, the directions have you finishing the collar and center fronts with a turned-under hem (oh no!).  What if I wanted to turn my collar front back as in the above picture?  I didn’t want the hem to show!  I decided to line the entire shirt with self-fabric that I interfaced with a lightweight fusible.  This finishes the collar and provides the stiffness that I wanted.  Now, we all know never to use fusibles on silk dupioni (at least I don’t) because the stuff never stays fused and we’re left with visible bubbles and puckers.  But I did this on the lining, and the only part that will show will be the collar points.  The sleeves got the silk organza.  Here’s another picture:
tribecashirt 001
Buttonholes on silk dupioni?  Hmmmmm, scared of that.  For this I made bound buttonholes, I only had to make 3.  This is a loose-fitting, very comfortable jacket that got lots of compliments today, always a good thing.  If you use this pattern, be prepared to decide how to treat that collar.  If you want it to flip open, as I do, know that the underside will show and plan accordingly.  Also, funnel collars are dramatic and not for everyone, but I kinda like just this one piece in my closet.  This would be beautiful made up in a double-sided or wool with simple pinked edges.  I saw that very thing yesterday in the window of a Coldwater Creek store.  Soon, I’ll be firing my current photographer, and retiring the camera.  I have a new potential hire, but I’m waiting for him to turn ten (don’t ask why).
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

Enjoying a RTW FAST since 2015! Creator of "DESIGNIN' DECEMBER!" Addicted to sewing since the 70's! In a few words, I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

Leading UK sewing blog where we believe creativity is contagious

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

