Indygo Junction Trench Topper

Pattern Description:
"Three coats. From classic to whimsical, take you anywhere with their versitile longer length. All are encircled with a lower band to blend or punctuate. Seaming softly shapes them for a flattering fit…"

Pattern Sizing:
S-XL

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow?
well, easy enough until I got to the applied belt. There are several reviews about this pattern in magazines and on this site that mention the poor drafting of this pattern. Grainlines are not marked on all pattern pieces, and forget about notches anywhere. That being said, this coat does go together very well. I got stumped at the belt. The coat itself is princess seamed and nicely curved at the waist. How was I to apply a straight rectangle over an area that was shaped at the waist without producing puckers? Somehow, it worked. I carefully basted the belt on and then topstitched. You lose some of the pretty waist shaping when done this way. I think if I made this again, I would make the tie separate and add belt loops.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I made view 1, which called for elastic loops to attach to the top and bottom buttons. The middle button had the buttonhole in belt tab. This just isn’t very sturdy, IMO. I couldn’t figure another way to close this coat and keep the attractive lines from the picture.
Fabric Used:
I used a funky Alexander Henry cotton from my stash. I’ve actually seen this fabric done up as luggage! This piece I bought at Nancy’s Sewing Basket in Seattle. The coordinating piece was a linen from my stash that happened to coordinate.

Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made:
I chose to line this coat to cut down on wrinkling. I just cut out the same pieces from lining fabric and made a separate coat. This also happened to be my working muslin. The fitting chart is not found anywhere in the pattern, I had to go on the website to figure out what size to cut out. According to my measurements, I wore large. The muslin was way too big, so I went back and cut out a medium, which fit fine. The linen panels and collar are interfaced with a lightweight fusible. Collar and edges are topstitched.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Definately! Now that I have it fitting correctly, I would like to try out some different views and maybe a "calmer" fabric.

Conclusion
this is a cute pattern, and comfortable. Try it!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

In a few words, I am addicted to sewing! I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

RPT's Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

A sewing and knitting blog

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

