Vogue 2827

vogue2827
The recent post on www.besewstylish.com (http://besewstylish.taunton.com/n/blogs/blog.aspx?webtag=besewstylish&redirCnt=1) reminded me of a project I completed last year using a leather jacket that I rescued from VERY 80’s styling.  I had bought the original jacket at a crazy store called Unclaimed Baggage.  If you’re ever in North Alabama, it’s worth swinging over to Scotsboro.  Seriously, it’s a store where all lost luggage and contents end up.  It’s yard sale heaven, if you like that sort of thing.  Anything and everything is for sale (including fabric).  Clothing, jewelry, all manner of electronics, ANYTHING.  I bought a Samsonite suitcase and a black leather jacket.  This jacket was cursed by the 80s: humoungous dolman shoulder pads, verrry roomy dropped sleeves, a lover-ly double breasted closure that was very roomy and closed way down at the thighs (perfect to wear with your stirrip pants!);  this thing hung in my closet for at least 8 years and needed to be thrown out or reworked.  Since I’m a baby blogger, I regret that I don’t have any "before" pictures or construction pictures of this jacket.  I chose Vogue 2827.  I went to ripping the jacket apart at the seams and unglue-ing the hems-: messy business.  I’d never sewn a leather garment before, and this was good practice.  I had just received my new teflon foot from my Bernina dealer, and I was armed with all my leather sewing articles; I was ready to go.  First, the pattern:
Pattern Sizing:
Size 12,14,16.  I used a size 12
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
yep, except I shortened the jacket a good 1 1/2 inches
Were the instructions easy to follow?
yes, but since I was using leather, I didn’t follow them much
What did you particularly like  or dislike about the pattern?
I like it when patterns have separate patterns for linings (this one does); they usually include the nice pleat in the back.
Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made:
a bunch.  I had made a test muslin and found the under arm seams way too low, prohibiting movement.  I raised them on front and back pieces 1/2 inch.  I also let out the waist 1/2 inch, tapering to original pattern at hip and under arm.  I also raised the corresponding underarm seams on the sleeve pattern as well, tapering to nothing at the notches.  As usual, I shorten the sleeves, fronts and backs for petites.  I shortened the hem also.  I didnt want the zipper extending onto the collar, so I shortened the zipper and stopped it at the top before the collar.  I was worried about easing the leather sleeve cap into the armscye, but I had no troubles.  All the hems were glued and I catch-stitched the lining (china silk from my stash) to the hem.
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I think that if I sewed it again, I would add another 1/2 inch to the collar width.  The finished width was only about 2 1/2 inches, a bit insubstantial for a jacket, IMO. 
Conclusion
This jacket pattern is very close fitting, but with some tweaking, it can be comfortable.  I had lots of fun with it, "re-tooling" an old out-of-
date leather jacket.   Like the sew stylish article said, think small when recycling a garment.  It seemed like the new jacket was half the size of my old one, but I was still peicing together leather to make pattern pieces big enough.  By the time I got to the collar, I was out of usable leather.  Luckily, I had some black ultra-leather in my stash I could use.  Talk about recycling!
 
                                                         vogue28272   
 
 
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

Enjoying a RTW FAST since 2015! Addicted to sewing since the 70's! In a few words, I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

RPT's Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

Leading UK sewing blog where we believe creativity is contagious

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

