Vogue 7906

I had to have this shirt after the beautiful layout in the December/Jan ’04/05 edition of Vogue Patterns (page 50).  I also had just the fabric from my stash, a piece of chartreuse silk charmeuse (say that 10 times fast!) from Tai Silks.  The Vogue Pattern tops are usually pretty good fitting for me, sometimes needing the petite adjustment.  For this pattern, I did not need to shorten the torso, just the sleeve length.  I used size 10.  I used view B, with no cuff treatment.  This really is a very simple pattern, albeit very close fitting.  I wanted that styling for this charmeuse shirt because I wanted it to be more dressy.  With this pattern, I learned a great deal about the ins and outs of sewing silk charmeuse.  Those that tell you to take great care to keep your fabric on grain while cutting out your pieces aren’t kidding!!  I managed to do that successfully, but ran into trouble easing in the sleeves!  The puckers you see in the photo were left there after my 4th retry at sewing in the darn things.  I couldn’t get those sleeve caps to ease!  I finally put in some very small sleeve heads made from silk organza to at least relieve some of the puckers.  The collar was another issue.  I wanted it to retain its funnel shape seen on the envelope picture.  The charmeuse was way too flimsy by itself so the collar fell over.  So, I fused bias tape all along the collar and neck seamline on the facing side and that did the trick.  I also interfaced the facing with silk organza.  Overall, this was a very nice pattern.  It is very close fitting, so test, test, test first.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

Enjoying a RTW FAST since 2015! Creator of "DESIGNIN' DECEMBER!" Addicted to sewing since the 70's! In a few words, I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

Leading UK sewing blog where we believe creativity is contagious

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

