Vogue 7881

Vogue 7881, from Claire Shaeffer’s Custom Couture Collection.  Ah, yes, continuing my love/hate relationship with this wool gabardine!!  First of all, the pattern.  The description reads: straight-legged pants (semi-fitted through hip) have contour, front button yoke and mock-fly zipper.  I made my muslin in size 10, which was too tight in the hips but didn’t need to be any bigger below the knee.  I simply let out the side seams 1/4" all around from the knee up, let out the center back seam 1/4" tapering to the original seamline at the back crotch.  I also increased the waistband a size.  I used the couture construction directions, which had you easing in the shaping at the waistline rather than making darts…not gonna happen with wool gabardine!  (purchased at Denver Fabrics).  After I sewed in the ease lines along the waist lines, I moistened, eased, steamed, moistened again only to get nice little puckers.  You can see them in one of the photos.  This is unfortunate, because I love the way these pants fit and I love the drape of the gabardine.  I rarely make pants because I don’t want to take the time to get the fit right.  These work for me, and the seat isn’t baggy.  The directions don’t call for lining, but I lined these because the wool was kind of scratchy.  There’s no pleats or pockets, which is slimming.  I’ll definitely make these pants again, maybe something with stretch in it? a crepe?
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

In a few words, I am addicted to sewing! I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

RPT's Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

A sewing and knitting blog

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

