Check it off the to-do list!

It’s a tremendous deal whenever I tackle my sewing “in pile.”  Why?  because it stays un-done for so long.  Take this great leather jacket:

IMG_5242

There’s a story behind it.  Many years ago, like, before anyone blogged, I found an old leather jacket at a Goodwill store.  I don’t have a picture of the original jacket, but it was a real piece of work, straight from the ‘80’s.  It looked something like a combination of these styles (from Pinterest):

247781852870965c5c54d0214b188930    il_570xN_453015732_tvwu 

The big giant shoulder pads, the dolman sleeves, and, of course, the drop-waisted double-breasted closure that hit right at the crotch.

I just laugh whenever I think about what it used to be.  BUT!  The leather was like butta, and I was motivated to cut the original coat up  and make a smaller more stylish jacket.

I used Vogue 2827, long ago OOP:

IMG_5247

The new jacket turned out great, and so many years later, I still wear it a bunch.  It truly gets softer with age, and I just love it.

EXCEPT:

IMG_5245

Look at that collar, will ya? UGH!

Surprisingly, I ran out of leather when I got to the collar, even with that gi-normous style.  So I used this fabric called Ultra-leather.  I don’t know if it’s still being sold today, but just look what happened over time?  BLECH!

This stuff flaked so bad, and little black flakes would get everywhere, while the REAL leather still looked beautiful.  I don’t know why it did this, but it was un-wearable.  Time to fix it.  Yesterday, after sitting in my mending basket for like 9 months, I finally fixed it.

I ripped the old collar out.  The flakey mess got everywhere (YUCK!):

IMG_5246

 

I used the original pattern collar to cut a new collar from some leftover stretch leather.  I sewed it back at the original seamline, hand-stitched the lining back on, and it’s like a brand new coat:

IMG_5248

YEA!!  And it only took a few hours from start to finish.

I was so happy with it, I wore it out the same day.

IMG_5251

One of my favorite jackets ever!

I’m not sure what caused the other synthetic leather to disintegrate like it did.  I have a theory, though.  I store all of my heavy coats (along with this one) in a hall closet and, since we live in the South, we have to use moth balls.  I suspect the fumes from the chemicals reacted with the synthetic leather of the collar.

That’s my theory anyway.  To be on the safe side, I’ll be storing my “new” jacket in my regular closet from now on.

Happy Sewing!!

  1. Oh wow – great save!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

In a few words, I am addicted to sewing! I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Red Point Tailor

Couture | Jewelry | Fashion accessories | For Active Modern Woman

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

A sewing, knitting and crochet blog

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

Goodbye Valentino

hello needle and thread

Catherine Daze's Blog

Wannabe 80s scifi sewist

Erica B.'s - D.I.Y. Style!

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

