Vogue 2989

IMG_4083

Vogue 2989, out of print

I finished this dress for Christmas Eve services back in December.  This is another great dress to make out of all of your ponte knit that you’ve been stashing (go ahead, admit it, you’ve been hoarding it by the truck loads, haha!).  This particular knit came from Joanne’s.

The dress pattern is straightforward and quick.

IMG_4086

As you can see, it has two separate fronts, with facings, back, and sleeves.  Simple.  The challenge comes with fitting.  It is a very close-fitting dress with absolutely no wearing ease:

IMG_4089

Even though this dress is made from a knit, I still could use a few adjustments; mainly, I think I could use a 1 inch FBA.  I’m thinking this would eliminate the collar collapse that’s happening right now.

IMG_4090

The other main challenge is the two front pieces.  The under piece is cut on the straight grain, while the outer piece is cut on the bias.  This makes for an interesting time when hemming the bottom.  Next time, I’ll follow the directions and sew the two tops together around the perimeter and then treat the whole thing as one piece.  I really like the waist pleat detail:

IMG_4084

I left out the zipper, and I can barely squeeze it over my head.  Despite my fitting issues with this, I really like it.  There’s no gaposis at the front, and I really like that stand-up collar (if I can get it to stand up).  If you see any other fitting issues I may have, please feel free to comment.  I like this pattern enough to make it again.  It’s very age appropriate without being frumpy. 

  1. I love how sleek yet detailed this is. Its a lovely shape for you. Nicely done!

    • Barbara J
    • February 12th, 2012

    I have this pattern and that’s exactly the color and material I had in mind for it. Thanks for the preview. Hopefully mine will look as beautiful as yours.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

In a few words, I am addicted to sewing! I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Red Point Tailor

Couture | Jewelry | Fashion accessories | For Active Modern Woman

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

A sewing, knitting and crochet blog

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

Catherine Daze's Blog

Wannabe 80s scifi sewist

Erica B.'s - D.I.Y. Style!

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

