ASCP-My experience

Hey everyone!  Let me begin this post by saying I’m no expert in refinishing and painting old furniture.  I’ll do it out of necessity, but it’s not my favorite thing to do.  I am, however totally inspired by and addicted to all the DIY home-improvement-decorating blogs out there, and spend countless hours drooling over all of your great furniture re-do projects and think “maybe one day….” 

Recently, I took all this inspiration and went to work on two pieces of furniture that I’ve had for years.  I gave them both the popular Annie Sloan Chalk Paint treatment.  I knew nothing about this paint until reading about it on a ton of blogs (it’s so popular that it’s now just called ASCP).  You can’t find it just anywhere, and I had to go online to find a local supplier.  I found mine from the very helpful Lynn White at the Nest in Norcross, GA (www.chalkitupnorcross.com) .  She gave me a brief lesson in the shop on how to use the paint and wax., and “off I went”.

The first piece I worked on was this old corner cupboard (sorry, this was the best before picture I could find).

House 014

This cupboard was made by my grandfather, back in the 60’s, from very knotty pine.  It was rustic-looking, and went perfectly in their lake cabin.  I’ve had it for years, and it’s very useful, but the knotty pine look, meh.  So, I painted it:

IMG_4107

IMG_4109

IMG_4108

I think it’s an improvement!  I painted two coats of Old White and then lightly sanded some spots just to give it that “flakey” look (is that even a word?). Then I applied two coats of the paste wax over the entire piece, as Lynn instructed.  I’m not an expert in refinishing furniture, nor do I know a thing about French antiques, but for a newby like me, I think this was a success (does this now look like a French antique? no idea).  I need to re-arrange my plates and stuff on the shelves; I just threw them back in there to get it all off the floor. This nicest thing about this paint is that there is no need to prime or sand before painting.  So, here’s a tip or two on using this paint technique from a newby:  brush strokes show with this paint, so keep a steady hand, and apply the wax in several very thin coats rather than thick globs.  If you want to know more about this technique, Lynn offers classes if you’re in the area. 

  1. Wow! What a difference. I really like the “chalked” version. You really notice your collectibles this way!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

In a few words, I am addicted to sewing! I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Red Point Tailor

Couture | Jewelry | Fashion accessories | For Active Modern Woman

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

A sewing, knitting and crochet blog

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

Catherine Daze's Blog

Wannabe 80s scifi sewist

Erica B.'s - D.I.Y. Style!

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

